Simple Man's Vaccine Guide

Official figures and sources, side by side. You decide.

Ingredients and mRNA

Ingredients of concern

Ingredients people often ask about. For each one: why it is used, which products in this guide list it, the amount per dose, what official bodies say about its safety, comparison exposures, regulatory history, and any cost reasons the sources give. Quotes are copied from the linked sources. This guide adds no opinion either way. "None found in the sources checked" means we looked and found nothing; it does not mean nothing exists.

Aluminium salts (adjuvants)

Why it is usedAdded as an adjuvant, 'a substance added to some vaccines to enhance the immune response'; forms used include aluminum hydroxide, aluminum phosphate, alum and mixed salts. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itInfanrix hexa Vaxelis Bexsero (MenB) Prevenar 13 / Prevnar 13 (PCV13) REPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) REVAXIS (Td/IPV teenage booster) Gardasil 9 (HPV) Engerix-B (hep B) Recombivax HB (hep B) Daptacel (DTaP) Infanrix (DTaP) Pediarix (DTaP-HepB-IPV) Pentacel (DTaP-IPV/Hib) Kinrix (DTaP-IPV) Quadracel (DTaP-IPV) PedvaxHIB (Hib) Havrix (hep A) Vaqta (hep A) Boostrix (Tdap) Adacel (Tdap) Trumenba (MenB) Vaxneuvance (PCV15) Prevnar 20 / Prevenar 20 (PCV20) Penbraya (MenABCWY)
Amount per doseInfanrix hexa 0.82 mg Al3+ (0.5 + 0.32 mg); Bexsero 0.5 mg; Gardasil 9 0.5 mg; Revaxis 0.35 mg; Repevax 0.33 mg; Penbraya 0.25 mg; Prevenar 13 / Prevnar 20 0.125 mg; Vaxneuvance 125 mcg (per dose, from each product's leaflet - see Ingredients table). (product leaflets linked in the Ingredients table)
US legal limit per dose: 0.85 mg (by assay); 1.14 mg (by calculation); up to 1.25 mg if data show it is safe and necessary. source
Documented safety and toxicity facts'Aluminum adjuvant containing vaccines have a demonstrated safety profile of over many decades of use and have only uncommonly been associated with severe local reactions.' source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)'The most common source of exposure to aluminum is from eating food or drinking water.' source
The average US adult 'eats about 7-9 mg aluminum per day in their food'; 'Children and adults may be exposed to small amounts of aluminum from vaccinations.' source
Regulatory historyUS per-dose aluminium limit set in federal regulation (21 CFR 610.15). source
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Thimerosal / thiomersal (ethylmercury)

Why it is usedPreservative to prevent bacterial and fungal growth when needles repeatedly enter a multi-dose vial; also used in manufacture of some vaccines. source
US regulation generally requires a preservative in multi-dose vials; FDA cites a 1928 Australian incident (Bundaberg) in which 12 children died after injection from a contaminated multi-dose bottle without preservative. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itFluzone Trivalent 2026-27 (flu injection) Flucelvax 2026-27 (flu injection, cell-grown)
Amount per dose0.01% thimerosal = 50 mcg thimerosal, about 25 mcg mercury per 0.5 mL dose. 2026-27 US labels: Fluzone multi-dose vial 25 mcg mercury per 0.5 mL; Flucelvax multi-dose vial 25 mcg. Single-dose syringes of these brands contain none. source source 2
FDA table: Afluria multi-dose 24.5 mcg mercury per 0.5 mL. source
Documented safety and toxicity factsMetabolised to ethylmercury and thiosalicylate; FDA says ethylmercury 'should be distinguished from methylmercury' (the type in fish), which 'at high exposure levels... can be toxic'. FDA's 1999 review 'found no evidence of harm... other than local hypersensitivity reactions'. source
FDA 1999 review: depending on formulations and infant weight, 'some infants could have been exposed to cumulative levels of mercury during the first six months of life that exceeded Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) recommended guidelines for safe intake of methylmercury'. source
WHO's advisory committee: 'no evidence to suggest that the amount of thiomersal used in vaccines poses a health risk'. source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)FDA: 25 mcg mercury per 0.5 mL dose is 'roughly the same amount of elemental mercury contained in a 3 ounce can of tuna fish'. source
Regulatory historyUS: 1 July 1999 FDA asked all manufacturers for plans to remove thimerosal, as 'a precautionary measure'. By 2001, except flu vaccines, it was 'removed from or reduced in all vaccines routinely recommended for children 6 years of age and under'. source source 2
UK: Department of Health letter of 10 Aug 2004 - from 27 Sept 2004 new childhood vaccines (Pediacel, Repevax, Revaxis) were introduced; 'there is no thiomersal in the new vaccines'. source
US: July 2025 the HHS Secretary adopted an ACIP recommendation that children, pregnant women and adults receive only single-dose, thimerosal-free flu vaccines. source
The 2026-27 FDA labels for Fluzone and Flucelvax still describe a multi-dose vial containing thimerosal. source source 2
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesWHO: 'Multi-dose vials are used in many countries because they require less storage space in the cold-chain and lead to less wastage, both of which have a significant impact on programme costs.' 'Alternatives would incur significant costs for development and regulatory approval, thereby limiting the ability to offer affordable vaccines.' source
FDA: multi-dose vials 'help facilitate immunization campaigns in the United States and globally'. source

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Formaldehyde

Why it is usedUsed 'to inactivate viruses so that they don't cause disease... and to detoxify bacterial toxins'; residual amounts may remain. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itInfanrix hexa Vaxelis REPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) REVAXIS (Td/IPV teenage booster) MenQuadfi (MenACWY) Recombivax HB (hep B) Daptacel (DTaP) Infanrix (DTaP) Pediarix (DTaP-HepB-IPV) Pentacel (DTaP-IPV/Hib) Kinrix (DTaP-IPV) Quadracel (DTaP-IPV) ActHIB (Hib) Hiberix (Hib) IPOL (polio, IPV) Havrix (hep A) Vaqta (hep A) Boostrix (Tdap) Adacel (Tdap) Menveo (MenACWY) Fluzone Trivalent 2026-27 (flu injection) Fluarix 2026-27 (flu injection) FluLaval 2026-27 (flu injection)
Amount per dose2026-27 flu labels: Fluzone up to 100 mcg per 0.5 mL; FluLaval up to 25 mcg; Fluarix up to 5 mcg. source source 2
Documented safety and toxicity facts'Excessive exposure to formaldehyde may cause cancer, but... the highest risk is from the air when formaldehyde is inhaled... There is no evidence linking cancer to infrequent exposure to tiny amounts of formaldehyde via injection as occurs with vaccines.' source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)The body makes formaldehyde naturally; 'for a newborn of average weight of 6 - 8 pounds, the amount of formaldehyde in their body is 50-70 times higher than the upper amount that they could receive from a single dose of a vaccine or from vaccines administered over time'. source
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Polysorbate 80

Why it is usedAn emulsifier that 'helps ingredients mix together and keep them from separating' (FDA, describing the AS03 adjuvant). source
UK/US products in this guide that list itVaxelis Prevenar 13 / Prevnar 13 (PCV13) REPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) REVAXIS (Td/IPV teenage booster) Gardasil 9 (HPV) Abrysvo (RSV, given in pregnancy) RotaTeq (rotavirus, oral) Infanrix (DTaP) Pediarix (DTaP-HepB-IPV) Pentacel (DTaP-IPV/Hib) Kinrix (DTaP-IPV) Quadracel (DTaP-IPV) Boostrix (Tdap) Trumenba (MenB) Fluarix 2026-27 (flu injection) FluLaval 2026-27 (flu injection) Flucelvax 2026-27 (flu injection, cell-grown) Prevnar 20 / Prevenar 20 (PCV20) Penbraya (MenABCWY) Beyfortus (nirsevimab) - monoclonal antibody, not a vaccine Enflonsia (clesrovimab) - monoclonal antibody, not a vaccine
Amount per doseFlucelvax up to 1,125 mcg; FluLaval up to 665 mcg; Fluarix up to 415 mcg per dose (2026-27 labels). Enflonsia 0.14 mg; Penbraya 0.018 mg. source source 2
Infant vaccines: Prevnar 20 100 mcg per dose; Pediarix up to 100 mcg per dose. source source 2
Documented safety and toxicity factsPublished LD50 (ChemIDplus/RTECS): intravenous rat 1,790 mg/kg; intravenous mouse 4,500 mg/kg; intraperitoneal rat 6,804 mg/kg; intraperitoneal mouse 7,600 mg/kg; oral mouse 25,000 mg/kg; oral rat 34.5 mL/kg. Lowest reported lethal dose (LDLo), intravenous dog and cat: 500 mg/kg. No intramuscular or subcutaneous LD50 found. source
EFSA reports that 'The acute toxicity is very low' and that there is 'no concern regarding genotoxicity, carcinogenicity or developmental toxicity' (food-additive review). source
Guide's own arithmetic Scaled to a 5 kg baby: intravenous rat LD50 = 8,950 mg; lowest lethal dose in dogs and cats (intravenous) = 2,500 mg. One infant dose of Prevnar 20 contains 0.1 mg: 89,500 times less than the rat figure (0.0011%) and 25,000 times less than the dog/cat figure (0.004%). The largest amount listed here, Flucelvax 1.125 mg (given from 6 months), is about 8,000 times less than the rat figure (0.013%) and about 2,200 times less than the dog/cat figure (0.045%). LD50 is the single dose that killed half of the test animals; it measures acute lethality only, not chronic, allergic or cumulative effects, and scaling an animal result to a baby by body weight is a simplification. Route matters: most vaccines are injected into muscle, so injected (intravenous, subcutaneous) values are more relevant than oral ones. source source 2
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)EFSA (2015) keeps a group acceptable daily intake (ADI) of 25 mg per kg body weight per day for polysorbates in food (oral), based on a no-observed-adverse-effect level (NOAEL) of 2,500 mg/kg/day in rats. source
Guide's own arithmetic For a 5 kg baby the ADI equals 125 mg a day by mouth; one 0.1 mg infant dose is 0.08% of one day's ADI, and 1.125 mg (Flucelvax) is 0.9%. The ADI is for food eaten every day, not for injection. source
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

2-Phenoxyethanol

Why it is usedPreservative; 'sometimes used in cosmetics and antiseptics'. FDA lists it in one available US vaccine, IPOL, at 0.5%. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itREPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) REVAXIS (Td/IPV teenage booster) Daptacel (DTaP) Pentacel (DTaP-IPV/Hib) Quadracel (DTaP-IPV) IPOL (polio, IPV) Adacel (Tdap)
Amount per doseIPOL: 0.5% concentration. source
Documented safety and toxicity factsEU scientific committee 'considers 2-phenoxyethanol safe for use as a preservative with a maximum concentration of 1.0 %' in cosmetics. source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)Cosmetics limit reviewed by the EU committee: 1.0%; IPOL contains 0.5%. source source 2
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Residual egg protein (ovalbumin)

Why it is usedSome flu viruses and the measles and mumps components of MMR are grown in hens' eggs or chick-embryo cells. source source 2
UK/US products in this guide that list itProQuad (MMRV) Priorix-Tetra (MMRV) Fluenz Tetra (2020) / Fluenz (current, nasal flu) Fluzone Trivalent 2026-27 (flu injection) Fluarix 2026-27 (flu injection) FluLaval 2026-27 (flu injection) FluMist 2026-27 (nasal spray, live) Priorix (MMR, US licence 2022)
Amount per doseFluarix up to 0.05 mcg ovalbumin; FluLaval up to 0.3 mcg (2026-27 labels). Flucelvax and Flublok contain no egg protein. source source 2
Documented safety and toxicity factsPink Book: 'MMR vaccine may be administered to egg-allergic persons without prior routine skin testing or the use of special protocols.' source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyA flu vaccine 'not requiring isolation or growth in hen's eggs was licensed in 2013' (Flublok). source
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Residual yeast protein

Why it is usedHepatitis B and HPV vaccine proteins are made in baker's yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae). source source 2
UK/US products in this guide that list itVaxelis Gardasil 9 (HPV) Engerix-B (hep B) Recombivax HB (hep B) Pediarix (DTaP-HepB-IPV)
Amount per doseAmount per dose not stated in the sources compiled.
Documented safety and toxicity facts'History of hypersensitivity to yeast' is a contraindication to hep B vaccine. In 2011 the Institute of Medicine concluded 'the evidence convincingly supports a causal relationship between HepB vaccine and anaphylaxis in yeast-sensitive persons'. source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Gelatin (usually porcine)

Why it is usedStabiliser; protects the vaccine during freeze-drying. FDA: such proteins 'are encountered in everyday life in the diet'. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itProQuad (MMRV) Fluenz Tetra (2020) / Fluenz (current, nasal flu) M-M-R II (MMR) Varivax (chickenpox)
Amount per doseAmount per dose not stated in the sources compiled.
Documented safety and toxicity factsPink Book lists MMR and varicella vaccines as containing gelatin; severe allergy to a vaccine component is a contraindication. source source 2
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Monosodium glutamate (MSG)

Why it is usedStabiliser ('the monosodium salt of glutamic acid'). source
UK/US products in this guide that list itProQuad (MMRV) Fluenz Tetra (2020) / Fluenz (current, nasal flu) M-M-R II (MMR) Varivax (chickenpox)
Amount per doseAmount per dose not stated in the sources compiled.
Documented safety and toxicity factsFDA considers MSG in food 'generally recognized as safe' (GRAS); it has received reports of symptoms such as headache and nausea after eating foods containing MSG. source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)'An average adult consumes approximately 13 grams of glutamate each day from the protein in food, while intake of added MSG is estimated at around 0.55 grams per day.' source
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Neomycin and other antibiotics

Why it is usedUsed 'to help prevent bacterial contamination during manufacturing'; reduced to very small or undetectable amounts. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itInfanrix hexa Vaxelis Bexsero (MenB) ProQuad (MMRV) Priorix-Tetra (MMRV) REPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) Fluenz Tetra (2020) / Fluenz (current, nasal flu) Pediarix (DTaP-HepB-IPV) Pentacel (DTaP-IPV/Hib) Kinrix (DTaP-IPV) Quadracel (DTaP-IPV) IPOL (polio, IPV) M-M-R II (MMR) Varivax (chickenpox) Havrix (hep A) Vaqta (hep A) Fluarix 2026-27 (flu injection) Priorix (MMR, US licence 2022)
Amount per dosePriorix (US) neomycin up to 25 mcg per dose; Fluarix gentamicin up to 0.15 mcg. source
Documented safety and toxicity facts'Antibiotics most likely to cause severe allergic reactions (e.g., penicillins, cephalosporins and sulfa drugs) are not used in vaccine production'; 'the very small amounts... have not been clearly associated with severe allergic reactions'. source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Residual cell-line DNA and protein (MRC-5, WI-38, Vero, MDCK, CHO)

Why it is usedViruses for some vaccines are grown in cells: rubella in WI-38 human diploid lung fibroblasts; varicella passed through MRC-5 human diploid cells; polio (IPV) in monkey kidney (Vero) cells. source source 2
WI-38 and MRC-5 are listed by the Coriell repository as diploid human fetal lung fibroblast cell strains (MRC-5 'from Britain'). source
UK/US products in this guide that list itProQuad (MMRV) Priorix-Tetra (MMRV) REPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) REVAXIS (Td/IPV teenage booster) M-M-R II (MMR) Varivax (chickenpox) Havrix (hep A) Flucelvax 2026-27 (flu injection, cell-grown) Priorix (MMR, US licence 2022) Enflonsia (clesrovimab) - monoclonal antibody, not a vaccine
Amount per doseFlucelvax (dog-kidney MDCK cells): up to 10 ng cell DNA and up to 21.6 mcg cell protein per dose (2026-27 label). Amounts for MRC-5/WI-38 vaccines not stated in sources compiled. source
Documented safety and toxicity factsNo LD50 published: residual cell DNA and protein are not tested for a lethal dose. (none found in ChemIDplus, PubChem or ECHA)
WHO (2013) reports that its earlier recommendation 'sets the upper limit of rcDNA [residual cell DNA] at 10 ng per parenteral dose', and that DNA from primary cells and diploid cell lines (such as MRC-5 and WI-38) 'has not been (and is not) considered to pose any significant risk'; the theoretical concern is with continuous cell lines that grow indefinitely (such as Vero and MDCK). source
Guide's own arithmetic Flucelvax's stated maximum, 10 ng of MDCK cell DNA per dose, equals the WHO upper limit of 10 ng. source source 2
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Glutaraldehyde

Why it is usedListed as a manufacturing residual in several DTaP-containing vaccines (CDC 2020 excipient table). source
UK/US products in this guide that list itVaxelis REPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) Daptacel (DTaP) Pentacel (DTaP-IPV/Hib) Quadracel (DTaP-IPV) Adacel (Tdap)
Amount per doseLess than 50 ng (0.00005 mg) residual glutaraldehyde per 0.5 mL dose in Daptacel and Pentacel (US labels); 50 ng or less in Vaxelis. source source 2
Pentacel label: '<50 ng residual glutaraldehyde'. source
Documented safety and toxicity factsPublished LD50 (ChemIDplus/RTECS): intravenous rat 9.8 mg/kg; intravenous mouse 15.4 mg/kg; intraperitoneal rat 17.9 mg/kg; intraperitoneal mouse 13.9 mg/kg; subcutaneous rat more than 750 mg/kg; subcutaneous mouse more than 590 mg/kg; oral rat 134 mg/kg (PubChem/HSDB also lists 154-315 mg/kg in other rat studies). No intramuscular LD50 found. source source 2
Guide's own arithmetic Scaled to a 5 kg baby: intravenous rat LD50 = 49 mg; subcutaneous rat = more than 3,750 mg; oral rat = 670 mg. One dose contains less than 0.00005 mg: at least 980,000 times less than the intravenous rat figure (about 0.0001% or less), and about 13 million times less than the oral figure. LD50 is the single dose that killed half of the test animals; it measures acute lethality only, not chronic, allergic or cumulative effects, and scaling an animal result to a baby by body weight is a simplification. Route matters: most vaccines are injected into muscle, so injected (intravenous, subcutaneous) values are more relevant than oral ones. source source 2
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Natural rubber latex (packaging)

Why it is usedNot an ingredient: some syringe tip caps or vial stoppers are made with natural rubber latex. Priorix (US): the diluent syringe tip caps 'contain natural rubber latex'. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itPriorix (MMR, US licence 2022)
Amount per doseNot applicable (packaging).
Documented safety and toxicity factsPink Book: some hepatitis B and A vaccine presentations contain latex; a 2-valent HPV vaccine 'should not be used in persons with an anaphylactic allergy to latex'. source source 2
FDA discourages 'latex-free' labelling because 'it is not possible to reliably assure that there is an absence of the allergens'. source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyFDA labelling guidance on latex statements issued December 2014. source
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

PEG-lipids and lipid nanoparticles (mRNA vaccines)

Why it is usedThe mRNA is packaged in lipid particles; Comirnaty lists ALC-0315, ALC-0159 (a polyethylene glycol-2000 lipid), DSPC and cholesterol. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itComirnaty (Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19, mRNA) Spikevax (Moderna COVID-19, mRNA)
Amount per doseAmounts per dose not listed in the SmPC excipient section. source
Documented safety and toxicity factsUS, 14-23 Dec 2020: 21 anaphylaxis cases after 1,893,360 first doses of Pfizer-BioNTech (11.1 per million); 17 had a history of allergies; all 20 with follow-up recovered or were discharged. (The report does not attribute the reactions to a specific ingredient in the abstract.) source
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyFormulation changed from phosphate-buffered saline to trometamol buffer (lipids unchanged) - see Ingredients table.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

Other commonly flagged: fetal bovine serum, porcine circovirus DNA

Why it is usedFetal bovine serum: when viruses are grown in cells, 'these cells need a source of nutrition, which in some instances may be provided by fetal bovine serum'. source
Porcine circovirus: CDC's 2020 table notes PCV-1 is present in Rotarix and PCV-1/PCV-2 DNA in RotaTeq, 'not known to cause disease in humans'. source
UK/US products in this guide that list itRotarix (rotavirus, oral) RotaTeq (rotavirus, oral) M-M-R II (MMR) Varivax (chickenpox)
Amount per doseNot stated in the sources compiled.
Documented safety and toxicity factsNone found in the sources checked.
Comparison exposures (diet, water, the body's own production)None found in the sources checked.
Regulatory historyNone found in the sources checked.
Cost or commercial reasons given in the sourcesNone found in the sources checked.

← back to ingredients by product ↑ all ingredients of concern

mRNA vaccines, and mRNA and DNA

mRNA vaccines give the body's cells a genetic message (messenger RNA) to make one protein from the germ, so the immune system learns to recognise it. Other vaccine types use a weakened live germ, a killed germ, a piece of the germ, or an inactivated toxin. vaccine types (HHS)

mRNA products licensed in the UK or US

ProductProtects againstLicence status
Comirnaty (Pfizer-BioNTech) mRNA ingredientsCOVID-19UK and US (UK: at-risk groups only) source
Spikevax (Moderna) mRNA ingredientsCOVID-19UK and US (UK: at-risk groups only) source
mNEXSPIKE (Moderna) mRNACOVID-19US approved May 2025; EU authorised 2026 (no UK approval found) source source 2
mRESVIA (Moderna) mRNARSV (adults 60+)US approved 2024; UK approved Feb 2025 source source 2
Kostaive / zapomeran (self-amplifying mRNA) mRNACOVID-19 (adult booster)UK approved Jan 2026 (no US approval found) source

mRNA and DNA: what the sources say

Official statements, independent studies and their stated limits, quoted from the linked sources. This guide takes no position.

The official position

Leftover (residual) plasmid DNA and the SV40 fragment

Aldén et al. 2022: reverse transcription in a lab dish

Has anyone shown integration into human DNA in vaccinated people?

Ingredients by product

Vaccine type filter:

Ingredients other than the active part (the germ or toxin component). Taken from archived copies of official leaflets dated 2020 or earlier where one exists, with differences from today's version noted. Products with no archive from 2020 or earlier are marked. Vaccine type uses the HHS categories definitions; each product's type is as stated in its official leaflet linked in the right-hand column.

Product and vaccine typeIngredients listedSource and changes
Infanrix hexa Combination: toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis) + inactivated (polio) + conjugate (Hib) + recombinant (hep B)
vaccine · UK
Lactose anhydrous; sodium chloride; Medium 199 (amino acids, mineral salts, vitamins); water for injections. Adjuvants: aluminium hydroxide, hydrated and aluminium phosphate (0.5 mg + 0.32 mg Al3+ per dose, SmPC sec. 2). Traces: formaldehyde, neomycin, polymyxin.archived copy (2020-11-17) · current
Current text describes Medium 199 in more detail (now names phenylalanine, para-aminobenzoic acid, sodium, potassium). No ingredient added or removed.
Vaxelis Combination: toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis) + inactivated (polio) + conjugate (Hib) + recombinant (hep B)
vaccine · UK and US
Sodium phosphate; water for injections. Adjuvants: aluminium phosphate and amorphous aluminium hydroxyphosphate sulfate. Traces: glutaraldehyde, formaldehyde, neomycin, streptomycin, polymyxin B. US 2020 table also lists polysorbate 80, ammonium thiocyanate, yeast protein, bovine serum albumin.archived copy (2019-07-05) · US 2020 table · current
Current EU SmPC adds bovine serum albumin to the list of possible trace residues.
Bexsero (MenB) Subunit / recombinant (proteins)
vaccine · UK and US
Sodium chloride; histidine; sucrose; water for injections. Adsorbent: aluminium hydroxide (0.5 mg Al3+). US 2020 table also lists kanamycin (trace).archived copy (2020-07-17) · US 2020 table · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Rotarix (rotavirus, oral) Live attenuated (oral)
vaccine · UK and US
2020 version: sucrose, dextran, sorbitol, amino acids, Dulbecco's Modified Eagle Medium; solvent calcium carbonate, xanthan gum, sterile water. US 2020 table adds: porcine circovirus type 1 (PCV-1) is present; 'not known to cause disease in humans'.archived copy (2020-08-18) · US 2020 table · current
Current EU formulation is different: sucrose, di-sodium adipate, DMEM (containing phenylalanine, sodium, glucose and other substances), sterile water. Dextran, sorbitol, calcium carbonate and xanthan gum no longer listed. The EU SmPC text extracted did not mention PCV-1; the US table does.
Prevenar 13 / Prevnar 13 (PCV13) Conjugate
vaccine · UK (US until replaced by PCV15/PCV20)
Sodium chloride; succinic acid; polysorbate 80; water for injections. Carrier protein CRM197; adjuvant aluminium phosphate (0.125 mg Al).archived copy (2020-10-23) · US 2020 table · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
ProQuad (MMRV) Live attenuated
vaccine · UK and US
Sucrose; hydrolysed gelatin; sodium chloride; sorbitol; monosodium glutamate; sodium phosphate; sodium bicarbonate; potassium phosphate; potassium chloride; Medium 199 with Hanks' salts; MEM Eagle; neomycin; phenol red; HCl/NaOH (pH); urea; water. Traces: recombinant human albumin. Grown in chick embryo cells and MRC-5 human diploid cells (US 2020 table lists 'MRC-5 cells including DNA and protein', bovine calf serum).archived copy (2019-07-05) · US 2020 table · current
No ingredient change; current SmPC adds E-numbers (e.g. sorbitol E420).
Priorix-Tetra (MMRV) Live attenuated
vaccine · UK
Amino acids (incl. phenylalanine); lactose anhydrous; mannitol (E421); sorbitol (E420); Medium 199 (phenylalanine, para-aminobenzoic acid, sodium, potassium); solvent water for injections. Trace neomycin. Grown in chick embryo cells and MRC-5 cells.no pre-2021 archive available (earliest archived UK SmPC: Wayback 2025-11-14) earliest archive · current
Only current version available; UK licence is recent.
REPEVAX (dTaP/IPV pre-school booster) Combination: toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis) + inactivated (polio)
vaccine · UK
Phenoxyethanol; polysorbate 80; water for injections. Adsorbed on aluminium phosphate (0.33 mg Al). Traces: formaldehyde, glutaraldehyde, streptomycin, neomycin, polymyxin B, bovine serum albumin. Poliovirus grown on Vero cells.archived copy (2020-11-12) · current
Current SmPC adds ethanol to the excipient list.
REVAXIS (Td/IPV teenage booster) Combination: toxoid + inactivated (polio)
vaccine · UK
Phenoxyethanol; ethanol anhydrous; formaldehyde; acetic acid and/or sodium hydroxide (pH); Medium 199 (amino acids incl. phenylalanine, mineral salts, vitamins, polysorbate 80); water for injections. Adsorbent aluminium hydroxide (0.35 mg Al). Poliovirus grown on Vero cells.archived copy (2020-10-23) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Gardasil 9 (HPV) Subunit / recombinant (virus-like particles)
vaccine · UK and US
Sodium chloride; histidine; polysorbate 80; borax (sodium borate); water. Adjuvant amorphous aluminium hydroxyphosphate sulfate. US 2020 table adds yeast protein.archived copy (2020-07-19) · US 2020 table · current
No ingredient change; current SmPC adds E-numbers.
MenQuadfi (MenACWY) Conjugate
vaccine · UK and US
Sodium chloride; sodium acetate; water for injections. Tetanus toxoid carrier protein. US Nov 2021 table also lists formaldehyde.archived copy (2020-12-20) · current
No ingredient change (E-number added). Not in the Feb 2020 US CDC table (US licence April 2020); appears in Nov 2021 table.
Fluenz Tetra (2020) / Fluenz (current, nasal flu) Live attenuated (nasal)
vaccine · UK
Sucrose; dipotassium phosphate; potassium dihydrogen phosphate; gelatin (porcine, type A); arginine hydrochloride; monosodium glutamate monohydrate; water. Viruses grown in hens' eggs; possible traces of egg proteins (ovalbumin) and gentamicin.archived copy (2020-12-02) · current
Product is now trivalent 'Fluenz' (was four-strain 'Fluenz Tetra'); excipient list unchanged.
Abrysvo (RSV, given in pregnancy) Subunit / recombinant (protein)
vaccine · UK and US
Trometamol; trometamol hydrochloride; sucrose; mannitol (E421); polysorbate 80; sodium chloride; HCl; water for injections.no pre-2021 archive available earliest archive · current
Earliest archived EU SmPC: Wayback 2023-10-31.
Konakion MM Paediatric (vitamin K1, phytomenadione) - NOT a vaccine Not a vaccine (vitamin)
vitamin (not a vaccine) · UK
Glycocholic acid; lecithin; sodium hydroxide; hydrochloric acid; water for injections.no pre-2021 archive available (earliest archived: Wayback 2021-10-25) earliest archive · current
No change between 2021 archive and current.
Engerix-B (hep B) Subunit / recombinant
vaccine · US (UK for selective/at-risk use)
Aluminum hydroxide; yeast protein; sodium chloride; disodium phosphate dihydrate; sodium dihydrogen phosphate dihydrate.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Recombivax HB (hep B) Subunit / recombinant
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; potassium aluminum sulfate; amorphous aluminum hydroxyphosphate sulfate; yeast protein.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
RotaTeq (rotavirus, oral) Live (oral, reassortant)
vaccine · US
Sucrose; sodium citrate; sodium phosphate monobasic monohydrate; sodium hydroxide; polysorbate 80; cell culture media; fetal bovine serum. 'DNA from porcine circoviruses (PCV) 1 and 2 has been detected in RotaTeq. PCV-1 and PCV-2 are not known to cause disease in humans.'archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
Nov 2021 table lists the same excipients (PCV note not repeated in that row).
Daptacel (DTaP) Toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis)
vaccine · US
Aluminum phosphate; formaldehyde; glutaraldehyde; 2-phenoxyethanol.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Infanrix (DTaP) Toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis)
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; aluminum hydroxide; sodium chloride; polysorbate 80.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Pediarix (DTaP-HepB-IPV) Combination: toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis) + recombinant (hep B) + inactivated (polio)
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; aluminum hydroxide; aluminum phosphate; sodium chloride; polysorbate 80; neomycin sulfate; polymyxin B; yeast protein.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Pentacel (DTaP-IPV/Hib) Combination: toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis) + inactivated (polio) + conjugate (Hib)
vaccine · US
Aluminum phosphate; polysorbate 80; sucrose; formaldehyde; glutaraldehyde; bovine serum albumin; 2-phenoxyethanol; neomycin; polymyxin B sulfate.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Kinrix (DTaP-IPV) Combination: toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis) + inactivated (polio)
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; aluminum hydroxide; sodium chloride; polysorbate 80; neomycin sulfate; polymyxin B.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Quadracel (DTaP-IPV) Combination: toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis) + inactivated (polio)
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; aluminum phosphate; 2-phenoxyethanol; polysorbate 80; glutaraldehyde; neomycin; polymyxin B sulfate; bovine serum albumin.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
ActHIB (Hib) Conjugate
vaccine · US
Sodium chloride; formaldehyde; sucrose.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Hiberix (Hib) Conjugate
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; sodium chloride; lactose.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
PedvaxHIB (Hib) Conjugate
vaccine · US
Amorphous aluminum hydroxyphosphate sulfate; sodium chloride.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
IPOL (polio, IPV) Inactivated
vaccine · US
Calf bovine serum albumin; 2-phenoxyethanol; formaldehyde; neomycin; streptomycin; polymyxin B; M-199 medium.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
M-M-R II (MMR) Live attenuated
vaccine · US
(Feb 2020 table) vitamins; amino acids; fetal bovine serum; sucrose; glutamate; recombinant human albumin; neomycin; sorbitol; hydrolyzed gelatin; sodium phosphate; sodium chloride; WI-38 human diploid lung fibroblasts.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
Nov 2021 table (PI 12/2020) lists: sorbitol, sucrose, hydrolyzed gelatin, recombinant human albumin, neomycin, fetal bovine serum, WI-38 human diploid lung fibroblasts (vitamins, amino acids, glutamate, sodium phosphate, sodium chloride no longer itemised).
Varivax (chickenpox) Live attenuated
vaccine · US
(Frozen) MRC-5 human diploid cells incl. DNA & protein; sucrose; hydrolyzed gelatin; sodium chloride; monosodium L-glutamate; sodium phosphate dibasic; sodium phosphate monobasic; potassium phosphate monobasic; potassium chloride; EDTA; neomycin; fetal bovine serum.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Havrix (hep A) Inactivated
vaccine · US
MRC-5 cellular proteins; formalin; aluminum hydroxide; amino acid supplement; phosphate-buffered saline; polysorbate 20; neomycin sulfate; aminoglycoside antibiotic.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Vaqta (hep A) Inactivated
vaccine · US
Amorphous aluminum hydroxyphosphate sulfate; non-viral protein; DNA; bovine albumin; formaldehyde; neomycin; sodium borate; sodium chloride; other process chemical residuals.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Boostrix (Tdap) Toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis)
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; aluminum hydroxide; sodium chloride; polysorbate 80.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Adacel (Tdap) Toxoid + subunit (acellular pertussis)
vaccine · US
Aluminum phosphate; formaldehyde; 2-phenoxyethanol; glutaraldehyde; water.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
Nov 2021 table omits 'water'.
Menveo (MenACWY) Conjugate
vaccine · US
Formaldehyde; CRM197 protein.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Trumenba (MenB) Subunit / recombinant (proteins)
vaccine · US
Polysorbate 80; aluminum phosphate; histidine buffered saline.archived copy (2020-03-03) · current
No change found between archived and current version (section 6.1 excipients).
Fluzone Trivalent 2026-27 (flu injection) Inactivated
vaccine · US
Egg-grown, split virus. Sodium phosphate-buffered isotonic sodium chloride; formaldehyde (up to 100 mcg/0.5 mL); octylphenol ethoxylate (Triton X-100, up to 250 mcg). Thimerosal (25 mcg mercury/0.5 mL) in the multi-dose vial only. No antibiotics used.archived copy (2020-03-03 (brand rows in CDC Feb 2020 table, four-strain versions)) · current
Checked against the 2026-27 label on DailyMed (label date 2026-06-29). US flu vaccines are now three-strain; see label for differences from the 2020 four-strain version.
Fluarix 2026-27 (flu injection) Inactivated
vaccine · US
Egg-grown, split virus. Octoxinol-10 (Triton X-100); alpha-tocopheryl hydrogen succinate; polysorbate 80; sodium phosphate-buffered saline. Traces: hydrocortisone, gentamicin, ovalbumin, formaldehyde, sodium deoxycholate. No preservative/thimerosal.archived copy (2020-03-03 (brand rows in CDC Feb 2020 table, four-strain versions)) · current
Checked against the 2026-27 label on DailyMed (label date 2026-07-01). US flu vaccines are now three-strain; see label for differences from the 2020 four-strain version.
FluLaval 2026-27 (flu injection) Inactivated
vaccine · US
Egg-grown, split virus, phosphate-buffered saline. Traces: ovalbumin, formaldehyde, sodium deoxycholate, alpha-tocopheryl hydrogen succinate, polysorbate 80. No preservative/thimerosal; no antibiotics.archived copy (2020-03-03 (brand rows in CDC Feb 2020 table, four-strain versions)) · current
Checked against the 2026-27 label on DailyMed (label date 2026-07-01). US flu vaccines are now three-strain; see label for differences from the 2020 four-strain version.
Flucelvax 2026-27 (flu injection, cell-grown) Inactivated (cell-grown)
vaccine · US
Grown in MDCK (dog kidney) cells; phosphate-buffered saline. Traces: MDCK cell protein and DNA, polysorbate 80, cetyltrimethylammonium bromide, beta-propiolactone. No egg protein or antibiotics. Thimerosal (25 mcg mercury/dose) in the multi-dose vial only.archived copy (2020-03-03 (brand rows in CDC Feb 2020 table, four-strain versions)) · current
Checked against the 2026-27 label on DailyMed (label date 2026-08-31). US flu vaccines are now three-strain; see label for differences from the 2020 four-strain version.
Flublok 2026-27 (flu injection, recombinant) Subunit / recombinant (protein)
vaccine · US
Recombinant protein made in insect cells. Sodium chloride; sodium phosphates; polysorbate 20. Traces: baculovirus and insect-cell proteins and DNA, Triton X-100. No egg, antibiotics or preservative.archived copy (2020-03-03 (brand rows in CDC Feb 2020 table, four-strain versions)) · current
Checked against the 2026-27 label on DailyMed (label date 2026-07-01). US flu vaccines are now three-strain; see label for differences from the 2020 four-strain version.
FluMist 2026-27 (nasal spray, live) Live attenuated (nasal)
vaccine · US
Live weakened viruses grown in eggs; stabilising buffer with sucrose and potassium phosphate (see label section 11 for full list).archived copy (2020-03-03 (brand rows in CDC Feb 2020 table, four-strain versions)) · current
Checked against the 2026-27 label on DailyMed (label date 2026-07-22). US flu vaccines are now three-strain; see label for differences from the 2020 four-strain version.
Afluria (flu injection) Inactivated
vaccine · US
See the CDC Feb 2020 table row. NOT VERIFIED for 2026-27: no current Afluria label found on DailyMed.archived copy (2020-03-03)
UNVERIFIED for 2026-27 season.
Vitamin K1 injection (phytonadione, Hospira) - NOT a vaccine Not a vaccine (vitamin)
vitamin (not a vaccine) · US
Polyoxyethylated fatty acid derivative 70 mg/mL; dextrose hydrous 37.5 mg/mL; water for injection; benzyl alcohol 9 mg/mL (preservative); may contain HCl. (Other US brands/presentations differ; some are benzyl-alcohol-free.)archived copy (2020-11-14) · current
Current DailyMed label checked: same ingredients (polyoxyethylated fatty acid derivative, dextrose, water, benzyl alcohol, may contain HCl).
Vaxneuvance (PCV15) Conjugate
vaccine · US (and UK licensed)
Sodium chloride; L-histidine; polysorbate 20; water. Adjuvant aluminium phosphate (125 mcg Al); CRM197 carrier.no pre-2021 archive available earliest archive · current
Earliest archived: FDA product page Wayback 2021-07-16; EU SmPC Wayback 2022-01-18.
Prevnar 20 / Prevenar 20 (PCV20) Conjugate
vaccine · US (UK for adults 65+)
Sodium chloride; succinic acid; polysorbate 80; water. Adjuvant aluminium phosphate (0.125 mg Al); CRM197 carrier.no pre-2021 archive available earliest archive · current
Earliest archived: FDA product page Wayback 2021-06-10; EU SmPC (this file name) Wayback 2024-07-12.
Priorix (MMR, US licence 2022) Live attenuated
vaccine · US
Anhydrous lactose 32 mg; sorbitol 9 mg; amino acids 9 mg; mannitol 8 mg per dose; sterile water diluent. Traces: neomycin sulphate, ovalbumin, bovine serum albumin. Measles and mumps viruses grown in chick-embryo cells; rubella in MRC-5 human cells. No preservative. Diluent syringe tip cap contains natural rubber latex.no pre-2021 archive available (earliest archived US label: DailyMed, Wayback 2022-06-20) earliest archive · current
No ingredient change between the 2022 archive and the current label.
Penbraya (MenABCWY) Combination: conjugate (MenACWY) + recombinant proteins (MenB)
vaccine · US
Tetanus toxoid carrier protein; L-histidine; trometamol; sucrose; aluminium phosphate (0.25 mg Al); sodium chloride; polysorbate 80. No preservative.no pre-2021 archive available (earliest archived label: DailyMed, Wayback 2023-12-12) earliest archive · current
No ingredient change between the 2023 archive and the current label.
Beyfortus (nirsevimab) - monoclonal antibody, not a vaccine Not a vaccine (monoclonal antibody)
monoclonal antibody (not a vaccine) · US (UK not routine)
L-histidine; L-histidine hydrochloride; L-arginine hydrochloride; sucrose; polysorbate 80; water for injections.no pre-2021 archive available earliest archive · current
Earliest archived EU SmPC: Wayback 2022-11-25.
Enflonsia (clesrovimab) - monoclonal antibody, not a vaccine Not a vaccine (monoclonal antibody)
monoclonal antibody (not a vaccine) · US
Arginine hydrochloride; histidine; L-histidine monohydrochloride monohydrate; polysorbate 80; sucrose; water for injection. Antibody made in Chinese hamster ovary (CHO) cells. No preservative.no pre-2021 archive available (earliest archived label: DailyMed, Wayback 2025-09-09) earliest archive · current
No ingredient change between the 2025 archive and the current label.
Comirnaty (Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19, mRNA) mRNA
vaccine · US (UK: at-risk only)
Dec 2020 EU version: ALC-0315; ALC-0159; DSPC; cholesterol; potassium chloride; potassium dihydrogen phosphate; sodium chloride; disodium phosphate dihydrate; sucrose; water.archived copy (2020-12-24) · current
Current formulations replace the phosphate-buffered saline salts (potassium chloride, potassium dihydrogen phosphate, sodium chloride, disodium phosphate) with trometamol and trometamol hydrochloride. Lipids, sucrose and water unchanged. (Archive dated Dec 2020 exists because EU authorised it 21 Dec 2020.)
Spikevax (Moderna COVID-19, mRNA) mRNA
vaccine · US (UK: at-risk only)
SM-102; cholesterol; DSPC; PEG2000-DMG; trometamol; trometamol hydrochloride; acetic acid; sodium acetate trihydrate; sucrose; water.no pre-2021 archive available earliest archive · current
Earliest archived EU SmPC (as 'COVID-19 Vaccine Moderna'): Wayback 2021-01-22. Not compared line-by-line.